Home » About

About

dancalloway_photoMy name is Dan Calloway and I currently live in Western North Carolina with my wife, Jean, of 31 years and my son, Dennis. I’m a retired naval officer who served 20 years in the US Navy having served on an aircraft carrier, a guided missile destroyer, and many commands ashore. My family and I lived on the Island of Bermuda for three years where we learned a lot about living on an island surrounding. I got to see a lot of the world , including Spain, Africa, the  Mediterranean, the UAE, and Europe while serving in the military and don’t regret any minute of it.

My education beyond primary school began in 1971 when I entered the University of North Carolina at Asheville where I graduated four years later with a bachelor of arts degree in Mathematics. I joined the US Navy in 1977 and following officer boot camp was enrolled in the Navy Supply Corps School in Athens, GA where I graduated two years later with a degree in logistics. In 2005, I decided to go back to school and requested admission to Capella University’s Masters program in Information Technology. Three years later in 2008, I graduated with a Master of Science degree in Information Technology with a specialization in network architecture. Prior to graduation, I had applied to the post-graduate doctoral program at Capella and was accepted. I entered the doctoral program in 2008 and have completed all my course requirements and two of my three required residential colloquia toward my PhD in Information Technology Education. I obtained my Post-Masters Certificate in College Teaching from Capella University in July, 2012. I graduated summa cum laude with my Masters in IT having completed that graduate degree program with a 4.00 GPA. I have completed my PhD course requirements with a 4.00 GPA as well.

My work experience other than my 20-year career in the military includes a 16-year career in Information Technology with a local county government non-profit organization. I was a journalist and columnist for The World Journal, a Canadian newspaper in Montreal, Canada, for about three years where I wrote a weekly technology column for the online newspaper. I am currently a freelance technical & scholarly writer and journalist seeking employment in the field of Information Technology as a journalist or in a research capacity.

My hobbies include reading (particularly science fiction), writing (I have several blogs and occasionally dabble in fiction short story writing), and taking walks with my dog through our neighborhood. I love anything to do with computers and networking. My mantra is open source matters and am an avid supporter of the open source paradigm. I have engrossed myself in experimenting with various distributions of Linux and have settled on two distributions that I use consistently. These are Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon and Fedora 17 Linux. I consider myself proficient in Linux, Microsoft Windows XP/Vista/7/2008 Server, although I don’t do Windows on a regular basis.

My first love was Mathematics and I try to stay current in the field whenever possible.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

%d bloggers like this: